the first annual

White Collar Crime, Investigations and Compliance ‎‎Symposium

October 5, 2021

Welcome

On October 5, 2021, join DLA Piper and thought leaders from leading global organizations for a series of virtual sessions intended to provide guidance on the ‎prevention and avoidance of corporate crime‎, risk based ‎compliance strategies to help ‎minimize exposure‎ and ‎tailored, proportionate and ‎‎cost-effective solutions for when a crisis does arise‎.

Topics covered will include trends in regulatory and competition law enforcement, an introduction to Aiscension, class actions‎ and allegations of corporate misconduct, risks of class action litigation in light of alleged corporate misconduct and global fraud recovery. Experienced professionals in the field will examine the prevalent themes and offer insights on what your company can do to make it right when things go wrong. 

DLA Piper (Canada) LLP is proud to host our first ever global symposium dedicated to white collar crime, investigations and compliance. Please register in advance to attend the sessions, all of which will be broadcast live. 

Recordings will only be available for a limited period to delegates who registered in advance. 

 

Programme

Introduction to the White Collar Crime, Investigations and Compliance Symposium

Start Time
8:00 a.m. PT
9:00 a.m. MT
10:00 a.m. CT
11:00 a.m. ET

Length
10 minutes
Discussion Leaders
All Members

From consumer protection and privacy to telecommunications, cybersecurity and governance, the legal ‎landscape is ‎changing.  Is your business prepared for the anticipated regulatory changes in Canada, the ‎United States and Europe? ‎Our panel members will be discussing the regulatory trends that will impact your ‎business in Canada, the United States and Europe.

Start Time
8:10 a.m. PT
9:10 a.m. MT
10:10 a.m. CT
‎‎11:10 a.m. ET
Length
40 minutes
Moderator
Alan Sarhan, DLA Piper Canada

Discussion Leaders
Tudor Carsten, DLA Piper Canada
Jonathan King, DLA Piper US
Patrick Rappo, DLA Piper UK

Canada has a new Commissioner of Competition who is keen to increase enforcement. The Competition ‎Bureau has ‎been recently armed with an expanded budget. We provide an overview of what to expect ‎and introduce Aiscension, ‎DLA Piper’s new proprietary, market-leading AI audit and investigations tool.  ‎

Start Time
8:55 a.m. PT
9:55 a.m. MT
10:55 a.m. CT
‎‎11:55 a.m. ET
Length
25 minutes
Discussion Leaders
Ilan Sherr, DLA Piper UK
Kevin Wright, DLA Piper Canada

Global Class Action Group Partners from across DLA Piper’s offices will discuss trends in ‎class action litigation in the context of white collar and corporate crime, as well as the risks faced by national ‎and international corporations and their directors.‎

Start Time
9:25 a.m. PT
10:25 a.m. MT
11:25 a.m. CT
‎‎12:25 p.m. ET
Length
30 minutes
Discussion Leaders
David Neave, DLA Piper Canada
Keara Gordon, DLA Piper US
Isabelle Ord, DLA Piper US
Jeremy Sher, DLA Piper UK

When a company seeks to pursue fraud recovery, it soon faces a series of challenges. Money is traced, ‎and then moves ‎again. Funds move into jurisdictions from which recovery seems impossible. Fraudsters ‎use corporations to hide behind ‎shell companies and bank secrecy laws prevent disclosure. ‎In this panel ‎discussion, our Global DLA Piper team discusses ‎the most common challenges as well as  practical solutions.‎

Start Time
10:00 a.m. PT
11:00 a.m. MT 
12:00 p.m. CT
1:00 p.m. ET

Length
30 minutes

Discussion Leaders
Charles Allin, DLA Piper UK
Leo Cheng, DLA Piper Hong Kong
Jamie Curle, DLA Piper UK
Jordan Deering, DLA Piper Canada

In this interview, Alan Sarhan from DLA Piper (Canada) LLP discusses Canada’s corporate compliance ‎landscape with ‎Dr. Hentie Dirker, Chief Integrity Officer at Group SNC-Lavalin Inc. The interview will highlight ‎major compliance ‎developments in Canada over the past decade, how Canada measures in comparison ‎to its international peers and ‎Dr. Dirker’s experience developing SNC-Lavalin’s world class program which ‎led to the company’s early release from ‎World Bank sanctions. The interview will conclude with a ‎discussion on how to right-size your program with practical ‎tips for the successful and ‎cost-effective ‎implementation of compliance policies and procedures adaptable to a ‎range of organizations.‎

Start Time
11:00 a.m. PT
12:00 p.m. MT
1:00 p.m. CT
2:00 p.m. ET
Length
40 minutes
Moderator
Alan Sarhan, DLA Piper Canada

Discussion Leaders
Dr. Hentie Dirker, SNC-Lavalin ‎Group Inc., ‎Chief ‎Compliance Officer

No two investigations are the same, and each investigation requires a tailor-made approach. In our panel ‎with in-‎house counsel specializing in investigations, we discuss challenges relating to modern ‎investigations, including ‎everything from interviews and privilege to reporting. Our session will discuss best ‎practices and strategies for in-‎house investigation processes, including avoiding or minimizing risk and ‎tips on how to maintain privilege over an ‎investigation mandate.‎

Start Time
11:45 a.m. PT
12:45 p.m. MT
1:45 p.m. CT
2:45 p.m. ET

Length
30 minutes
Discussion Leaders
Jordan Deering, DLA Piper Canada
Heather Treacy, Q.C., DLA Piper Canada
Sandeep Joshi, BMO Financial Group
Mike Sulek, Rio Tinto

Technology has advanced in leaps and bounds. The fraud landscape is constantly evolving, and new ‎‎technologies are ‎enabling fraud fighters to better prevent, detect, and monitor for fraudulent behaviour.  ‎In ‎this session, PwC will ‎showcase some of the tools and technologies that can be used by fraud ‎examiners ‎to respond to and combat ‎economic crime.‎

Start Time
12:20 p.m. PT
1:20 p.m. MT
2:20 p.m. CT
3:20 p.m. ET

Length
20 minutes
Discussion Leaders
Krista Mooney, PwC
Casey McInally, PwC

Employees can be your greatest compliance asset, but one rogue employee (or group of employees) can ‎be capable ‎of intentionally causing material harm to the organization. Despite increasingly complex ‎controls, employee fraud ‎continues to be a real risk for many employers. Employee fraud can take many ‎forms, from stolen company assets to ‎unrecorded vacation to falsified expense reports, with some ‎incidents being more severe than others. Detection ‎can be tricky, investigation is complicated by ‎procedural rights arising in the employment relationship, and recovery ‎can seem almost impossible. In ‎this session, veteran DLA Piper employment lawyers will provide a human resources ‎perspective on ‎combatting employee fraud.‎

Start Time
12:45 p.m. PT
1:45 p.m. MT
2:45 p.m. CT
3:45 p.m. ET

Length
30 minutes
Discussion Leaders
Ryan Campbell, DLA Piper Canada
Evan Parness, DLA Piper US
Donald Wilson, Q.C., DLA Piper Canada

Conclusion to the White Collar Crime, Investigations and Compliance Symposium.

Start Time
1:20 p.m. PT
2:20 p.m. MT
3:20 p.m. CT
4:20 p.m. ET

Length
10 minutes
Discussion Leaders
All Members

Register

Register for you chosen sessions by clicking the button below, you can register for any or all of the sessions. Meeting details will be provided once registered.

Contact us

For any enquiries, please complete the form below. View our privacy policy.

DLA Piper is a global law firm with lawyers located in more than 40 countries throughout the Americas, Europe, the Middle East, Africa and Asia Pacific, positioning us to help clients with their legal needs around the world.