Diversity, Wellbeing and the New World of Work

Global Employment Thought Leader Series

November - December 2020

Welcome

Join DLA Piper’s Global Employment Thought Leader Series to hear world-class speakers explore critical issues for employers at this pivotal time. Recent global events and movements including COVID-19, #BlackLivesMatter and #MeToo have had – and will continue to have – profound and long-term impacts on our workplaces. Organisations the world over are re-thinking how to stay relevant, how to prioritise workers’ wellbeing and how to promote social justice and equality all while planning for an uncertain future.   

In our Global Employment Thought Leader Series, prominent thinkers will examine these themes and offer insights on what companies can do now to make work better and make workplaces fit for the future, whatever it may bring.   

  • Hear Dr Margaret Heffernan, entrepreneur, CEO, TED speaker and author of “Uncharted: How to Map the future together”, on how to navigate the new work paradigm and manage your remote workforce
  • Hear John Amaechi OBE, thought leader, organisational psychologist and best-selling author on Equality in the global workforce: How to drive meaningful and lasting change.      
  • Hear Dr Vivek Murthy on the impact of covid-19 on the mental health of the global workforce and what employers can do to help

Please register in advance to attend the sessions, all of which will be broadcast live. 

Recordings will only be available for a limited period to delegates who registered in advance. 

Programme

Margaret Heffernan: how to navigate the new work paradigm and manage your remote workforce

18 November 9am PST / 11am CST/ 12pm EST/ 5pm GMT/ 6pm CET

  • Has the workplace changed forever?
  • Is remote working here to stay, what is the future workplace likely to look like?
  • What impacts has remote working had on productivity, employee engagement, creativity and innovation?
  • What steps can businesses take to build trust and connection, culture, and social support in a remote work environment?
  • What does monitoring and managing employee performance remotely look like?
  • How can HR / leaders best support the business through this time of uncertainty?
  • What are companies getting right (or wrong) when it comes to leading in an unpredictable world?

John Amaechi, OBE: Equality in the global workforce and how to drive meaningful and lasting change

2 December 9am PST / 11am CST/ 12pm EST / 5pm GMT/ 6pm CET

  • How has the current racial equality and social justice climate impacted employer diversity and inclusion (D&I) efforts?
  • How has the pandemic – and remote working – impacted workforce initiatives focused on promoting equality in the workplace? 
  • Are D&I strategies likely to be set back by the pandemic as companies respond to a challenging economic climate?
  • What steps should business leaders consider taking now to promote social justice and equality?
  • What steps can the non-leaders among us take to contribute to an equitable workplace for everyone?
  • Could our new work paradigm present new opportunities to encourage meaningful and lasting change?
  • How can businesses embrace the opportunity to make social justice and equality a movement and not a moment?

Dr Vivek Murthy: The impact of COVID-19 on the mental health of the global workforce and what employers can do to help

*PLEASE NOTE: There has been a time change from the original time advertised*

9  December 10:30am PST / 12:30pm CST/ 1:30pm EST/ 6:30pm GMT/ 7:30pm CET

  • What impact has the pandemic - and the measures to contain it - had on mental health the world over?
  • What impact do prolonged periods of remote working and isolation from colleagues have on workers’ mental health?
  • What longer term impacts on mental health are we likely to see?
  • What can employers do to help workers feel more connected during periods of remote working /lockdown?
  • What else can companies do now to support workforce mental wellbeing?
  • What can we as individuals do to support our own mental wellbeing during these uncertain times?
  • What longer term mental health strategies can employers adopt now that will survive the pandemic?

Register

Register for you chosen sessions by clicking the button below, you can register for any or all of the sessions. Meeting details will be provided once registered.

Contact us

For any enquiries, please complete the form below. View our privacy policy.

DLA Piper is a global law firm with lawyers located in more than 40 countries throughout the Americas, Europe, the Middle East, Africa and Asia Pacific, positioning us to help clients with their legal needs around the world.